Back in business

The past few days have led me to disappear.  I literally haven’t been sitting at a computer for more than like 20 minutes since Thursday until I got into work today.  I had 150+ e-mails to go through, lots of things to respond to and I’m still playing catch-up.

Basic recap of the weekend: California is GORGEOUS.  The weather is perfect, and amazing.  There are tons of surfers, and I love my new future home.  And, good news: I found an apartment!  Its an adorable little 400 square foot apartment on the hill, overlooking a canyon.  Its tiny, but it has a dishwasher and a garbage disposal!  Unfortunately no laundry, so I will have to create a movable office at the laundromat.  Anyone have any good suggestions for mobile internet on the go?!

And as such, I will finally reveal (now that the move is official), that I am moving to Santa Cruz, CA.  Where I will be going for my PhD in International Economcis!  I got the opportunity to meet with the current director of the PhD program, and tour the offices of the department.  And, I’m now completely stoked to start the program.  Seriously, I can’t wait for this dream of mine to be a Professor of Economics/Researcher to come true.  I can’t believe its about to start!

So after my whirlwind tour of Santa Cruz, I got back to Chicago laaaaaate on Sunday night…technically Monday morning.  I crashed, and arose early yesterday to…go for a run!

I got in a solid 4 mile run yesterday.  I wanted to push further, but since I’m technically “ahead” in my marathon training, I decided to take it easy the day after lots of travel, but will hopefully get in a looong run sometime this weekend.  When?  I’m not sure…bachelorette party number 2 (that I’m throwing, not for me) is this weekend in Michigan.

You might know the star lady of this party — its Julia from Jogging my Memory!  We actually met in college, and were in the same sorority.  My last two years of college we became really close friends, and I’m thrilled to be a part of her wedding this summer!

Ahh..the glory days 🙂

So yesterday, 4 mile run.  Pre-run, I had a Nature Valley granola bar.  Post-run I had 2 eggs, wheat toast and a grapefruit.  And lots of water + G2.

Then I went downtown to meet up with Mr. K, and we had a delightful lunch.  For lunch we went to Chutney Joe’s, a fast-food Indian joint, that actually has really good food.  I had whole wheat naan with Garbanzo Masala, and a vegetarian samosa on the side. Delish.  Hit the spot.  I hadn’t had Indian in a while…I need to try some of the recipes that Jenna has been posting on Eat, Live, Run.  They look incredible.

Then headed up to Millenium Park, where we parked ourselves at Pritzker Pavillion with 3 blankets, and my roommate JC, for the next 6 1/2 hours.  We were staking out our spot for us +  friends for…She & Him!

She & Him, Zoe Deschanel & M. Ward, performed a free concert in Millenium Park.  It was an awesome concert.  For those of you who haven’t heard of She & Him, you should check them out here.  I love Zoe’s voice.  Its so unique, and awesome.  She was also the female lead in Elf and 500 Days of Summer!

While at the park, we feasted on Everything Pretzel Slims from TJ‘s, delightful turkey deli sandwiches from this small Italian bakery up in Andersonville (thanks to Liz!) –what was on them, I’m not sure.  One thing I do know — not completely healthy, but totally worth it.  Mmm.  Sammich.

The concert ended around 9, after which point, at which point Mr. K and I went back to his place, and while hanging out with his brother Mr. K had some Drumstick icecream and I had some Blackberry Cabernet Ciao Bella Sorbetto.  Hit the spot.  Then, I crashed.

This morning, I woke up and hit the gym for a 24 minute bike ride and a 26 minute crosstraining sesh, plus abs and arms.  Pre-workout I had a smokin’ Smores Luna bar  Then I headed for work, and on the way indulged in a delightful breakfast: a Soy Carmel Light Frappaccino from Starbucks, oatmeal, peanut butter, and a banana.

Time to hit the work pile!  Happy Tuesday!

What is your vice — the one thing you always indulge in no matter what? I think mine is soy icecream/sorbet.  There is always room for a scoop of it.  No matter what.

2 thoughts on “Back in business

  1. Yay! Thanks for the guest appearance!
    How are the S’Mores Luna Bars? I bought one and haven’t eaten it yet?
    Can’t wait for the weekend!

    • S’mores Luna Bars are great. They taste almost just like a s’more. I recommend eating it either as a preemptive pre-workout or post-hard-workout reward. Because its kind of like a candy bar, but good for you. Mostly 🙂

Leave a Reply

