Veggie-tastic lunch!

Today for lunch, I definitely got my fill of veggies — and fruit!

To start off with, I had a serving of my homemade Gazpacho soup.  Gazpacho soup is probably my all time favorite soup.  Its a cold tomato soup, that gets its origins from Spain.  Recipe for delightful Gazpacho:

Gazpacho Soup (8 Servings)

1 28 oz can peeled, whole tomatoes (I get mine with no added salt)
1 cucumber, peeled and diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 onion, diced
2 tbsp white vinegar (since I didn’t have any on hand, I used rice vinegar)
1 tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp dry white wine (if you so desire)
salt
pepper

Put tomatoes, half of the green pepper, half of the onion, half of the cucumber, vinegar, olive oil, wine (optional), salt, pepper, and garlic into a blender.  Blend well.  Put in fridge to chill.  Serve, using the other half the green pepper, onion and cucumber as garnish.

You can also top with bread crumbs or Falafel patties, like I did!

Gazpacho + Falafel (there are two, but you can only see one) — I ran out of toppings, so I had my sans toppings, but it was still good!

And then I had a delightful spinach salad topped with yellow pepper, cucumber, tomato and Walden Farm’s calorie free dairy/gluten free caesar dressing.  Although I was excited when I found this Walden Farm’s dressing in the store, I was really expecting a caesar dressing flavor.  Unfortunately the flavor is nothing like what I equate to be a caesar dressing, so I was quite disappointed.  Maybe the other flavors are better?

Salad + mucho dressing.

I also had 2 Smart Dogs + ketchup/mustard

They were gone before I could snap a photo…

And I finished off with this…

Fresh strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and mango.

I was craving fresh mango earlier…so, thank goodness I packed it for lunch!  And thank you Whole Paycheck for such delightful fruit offerings!

Talk about getting your veggies for the day!  But man, was that one satisfying meal.  I think it was the colors, just made it feel more well rounded.

What is your favorite way to get your daily veggie intake? I like to have salads with a variety of toppings, but my favorite way, is probably broccoli + soy cheese or fried okra.  Speaking of which, one of those may make an appearance for dinner!

Leave a Reply

