Memorial Day Weekend Part 1

I seriously can’t believe its Tuesday already.  When did that happen?  This weekend was a whirlwind — it went by in the blink of an eye.  But first let’s start with breakfast this morning.

Breakfast was — drum roll please — Super Protein Oats in a Jar + grapefruit.  Perfection.

Okay, now onto the weekend recap.  Seriously, this weekend recap could take hours.  And I might still leave things out, but regardless, let’s rewind to Friday.

Friday our work let us out at 3pm – 1 pt for work.  It was seriously awesome.  I walked 2.5 miles to meet my sister at the train station!  I picked up a treat for us to share, a small Caribou Coffee dark chocolate mocha with soy milk.  It was too rich for me, so we split about half of it, and then put it in the freezer for later.

For dinner, we went to an adorable cafe in Oak Park, Buzz Cafe.  My sister ordered the Organic Southwestern Grilled Chicken wrap with fruit, and said it was fabulous.  I ordered the 1/2 pizza veggie and salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  The veggie pizza had a garlic goat cheese spread instead of regular cheese, so I could indulge in the treat.  It was fa-bu-lous.

(We also shared a bottle of malbec.  My favorite.  Delish.)

On Saturday, I dragged my sister to the gym early for my 4 mile run. Pre-workout, I had 1/2 a grapefruit and whole wheat bread smeared with Trader Joe’s unsalted creamy peanut butter.  Post-workout, we split a breakfast bagel from Bruegger’s Bagel.  We had a sundried tomato bagel with egg and bacon.  I love me some bagel.

Then we headed downtown, where we spent the early afternoon with Mr. K and family at the Field Museum.  If you’re even in Chicago and haven’t been, its a must see!

After museuming ourselves out, we had a delightful Mexican lunch at Zapatista.  I shared an order of medium guacamole, as well as salsa and chips for an appetizer, and had the “Siesta Special” Menu of three tacos.  All around, very good food.  I could have done without the chicken taco though.  It just left something to be desired.   Dessert was an array of sorbets.

Then, it was HOCKEY time.  For those of you who don’t know, I’m from Minnesota, and therefore a huge hockey fan.  So naturally, I’ve caught hockey fever here in Chicago as the Blackhawks are now in the Stanley Cup Finals (up 2-0)!  And thus, Saturday night, we watched game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals, which Chicago won (obvs).  With the game we enjoyed:

An array of fruit and…

…and vegetables + hummus and pretzel chips.

And Two Brother’s beer.  Mr. K and I each had a The Bitter End American Pale Ale, and my sister enjoyed an Ebel’s Weiss.  Okay, so maybe Mr. K had two.  But, who is counting?!

And then, we crashed. More weekend tales later!

What did you do for Memorial Day Weekend?

Leave a Reply

